Tuesday, 18 December 2012

What Is Rudraksha?

Rudraksha is one of the very prevalently used beads among Hindu people. Tree on which Rudraksha grows belongs to Elaeocarpus Ganitrus species, found in Himalayas. This fruit’s seed is utilized as a bead and is separated in 4 sections as per their sizes and shape. They are as follows –
  • Rudraksha – It is large and round in size and prevalently used for medicines, prayers, and for making garlands.
  • Indraksha – It appears in groundnut shape and is oval.
  • Bhadraksha - It is smaller in round and size. As compared to Rudraksha it serves fewer benefits.
  • Sahastraksha – It is shaped in Indraksha, it is just a little bit flat in shape.

The bead is categorized on the basis of number of mouths or lines running from bottom to top. The number of mouths can differ from 1 to 14. The beads having 5 mouths are most prevalent whereas those beads, which have 1 to 4 and 6 to 14, are most scarce, enticing the highest cost.
One faced bead is scarcest and person who has it will be free from cycle of rebirths and births. Double face bead is sacred to Shiv Shakti and Shiva. The 3-faced bead is one to trinity and 3 shaktis. The 4 –faced bead is connected to 4 Vedas and Brahma. The 5- faced bead is Shiva and 6- faced is Kartikeya. When person wears 7-faced bead, Mahalakshmi Goddess gets happy. The 8-faced bead is to Ganesha and 8-faced bead wearer is always victorious. 9-faced bead represents 9 shaktis of Maa Durga. 10-faced bead signifies 10 directions and is particularly useful. The 11-faced bead signifies Rudra; the 12- faced bead represents sun. 

No comments:

Post a Comment